Thanksgiving 2020: What I’m Thankful For This Year

Lauren Chan Lee
5 min readNov 24, 2020

--

Thanksgiving turkey craft

It’s been the heaviest of years.

  • The deadly virality of COVID-19 drove all but essential work into the home.
  • We’re facing record levels of unemployment and many small businesses like restaurants are struggling to survive.
  • The tragic deaths of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor have ignited the Black Lives Matter movement, and hate crimes against Asian-Americans are on the rise.
  • Wildfires burned millions of acres along the West Coast, clouding the sky with so much smoke and ash that we never saw light one day.
  • After a contentious election cycle, a smooth transition of power is still far from assured.

The year isn’t even over yet.

And yet, ever the optimist, I’ve found things to be grateful for this Thanksgiving. Living in the San Francisco Bay Area with all of the pressure to have a big life, I’m appreciating the joys of a small life. From “ambient TV” to health, here are some serious and not-so-serious things I’ll be giving thanks to this holiday.

Health

First and foremost, I’m so grateful that our family has been healthy. The pandemic has reminded us that you can’t take your health for granted. Without a commute, I’ve been able to amp up my gym routine and work out five days a week. During those hard first months of lockdown in the spring, exercising was a much needed release of the frustrations of the day. My moods are a lot happier now, but exercise has become part of my healthy habit. I’m thankful to my group fitness instructors that made the jump to teaching virtually. Their classes made me stronger and even more critically, preserved my mental health. With the latest news on vaccine development, I’m hopeful that there’s light at the end of the tunnel for pandemic living.

Ambient TV

You know those TV shows that you watch with half of your attention, while you scroll through TikTok on your phone at the same time? Apparently, there’s a name for it: ambient TV. I’m thankful for Tiger King, Indian Matchmaking, All-American, and Selling Sunset for being that perfect soothing backdrop. And on the days that I really want to engage with the show and escape from reality, I’m thankful for Unorthodox, Kim’s Convenience, and Homeland.

Neighbors and Friends

Fairy house in our neighborhood

We’ve lived in our neighborhood for six years, but only discovered many hidden secrets this year. From our daily walks around the neighborhood, we’ve learned that there’s a house a block down that turned the base of a tree into a little fairy house, complete with an organic garden and well. And a couple blocks away, there’s a parrot named “Charley” who spends most days in a cage outside and loves talking to neighbors. When everyone started putting teddy bears in their windows, it was fun to practice counting and see how many we could find. Even though we have been distant from our neighbors and friends, we have also felt closer than ever. I’m thankful for the neighborhood families that have become our “pod” and the text chains and Zoom parties with friends that kept us connected.

Creativity

Creativity is an essential skill during quarantine. This year, I’ve taken pretend trips to Yosemite and Hawaii with the kids. We upcycled smoothie bottles to make our own carnival game. We’ve developed cutthroat strategies to win at Uno and Animal Rummy. There may have been chaos, whining, and meltdowns in between these moments, but I’m thankful that I got to practice creativity with the kids.

Childcare

As much as I love sharing moments with kids, sometimes you just need to get things done or take a break. The reason why my journal entries from the spring were overflowing with negative adjectives is because I was spending all of my time taking care of other people. I’ve since realized how important it is for me to have time for myself. I’m thankful to our teachers, grandparents, and nanny who help the kids learn and grow, and when all else fails, YouTube. It’s everyone’s favorite babysitter — always available, kids love it, and you don’t even have to pay afterwards.

Self-Care

The gift of time to myself has enabled me to pursue things that stimulate and appeal to me. Self-actualization and the occasional mud mask has been self-care for me. I’ve launched my personal website, hosted a webinar, written a story almost every week, and even gotten published in Hacker Noon. I’m thankful that I’ve been able to afford this time for self-actualization and to my supporters who cheer me on by liking and commenting on my posts.

Everyday Heroes

As children, we heard stories about heroes like Superman and Wonder Woman. In the face of crisis, we’ve seen people rise to the occasion and become real life, everyday heroes. Doctors and nurses working the frontlines in hospitals. Researchers developing vaccines, and volunteers contributing their bodies to test them out. Teachers learning new ways to teach online using technology. Restaurant, farm, grocery store, fulfillment center, and delivery workers keeping us supplied and fed. People like Gennica Cochran and Autumn Tillman that witness racist acts and jump in to stand up for others. You may not have capes or supernatural powers, but you aren’t faceless and nameless. I’m thankful to all of our everyday heroes.

This Thanksgiving, I’ll be celebrating blessings of health, ambient TV, neighbors and friends, creativity, childcare, self-care, and everyday heroes. Like this tree overlooking the bay, we must be grounded in our values and keep standing strong whether the day is beautiful or stormy. What are you grateful for? Happy Thanksgiving!

Tree by the Bay

--

--

Lauren Chan Lee

Lauren Chan Lee is a product leader who enjoys writing about the connections between product principles and everyday life. Learn more at: laurenchanlee.com